Greek Orthodox Religious Information

What is Byzantine Chant?

When you attend a Greek Orthodox Church service, you may notice the music right away. It’s a little different than what we might typically associate with churc... Read More

What Are Vesper Services?

Vespers, also known as the Vesper Services and εσπερινός (esperivos) in the Greek language, are a special type of service that could take place in the Orth... Read More

Overview of the Seven Sacraments

The Seven Sacraments, also referred to as the Holy Mysteries, are a mystical way for Orthodox Christians to participate in divine grace. Each of the sacraments have ... Read More

Divorce in the Orthodox Church

There are seven Sacraments, also referred to as Holy Mysteries, in the Greek Orthodox Church. Holy Matrimony is an optional sacrament that enables a man and a woman ... Read More

History of the Nicene Creed

  At its most basic level of understanding, the Nicene Creed is both a declaration of our faith and a concise statement of our beliefs. In fact, according to We... Read More

Learn About Mount Athos

Mount Athos, which is also referred to as the Holy Mountain by the Greeks, is one of the main monasteries of the Greek Orthodox Christian religion. Located on a peni... Read More

What Are the Seven Sacraments?

The Seven Sacraments in the Orthodox Church are also referred to as Holy Mysteries. They are highly personal and are in place to help us become more like Christ. The... Read More

Overview of Great Lent

Each year, the period of Great Lent lasts for the forty days before the Resurrection of Jesus Christ, of which the Orthodox faith is centered. Fasting, in general, i... Read More